spacer

Sites

Glen Echo Park for Arts and Culture

In 1891 Glen Echo was a Chautauqua retreat and then operated as an amusement park from the early 1900s until 1968.  It is home to a beautifully restored 1921 Dentzel Carousel with 52 hand-carved animals.  Glen Echo Park Partnership for Arts and Culture oversees numerous art, history, and recreation programs in this outstanding setting.

7300 MacArthur Boulevard, Glen Echo
(301) 634-2222
There are many activities taking place at the park during different hours, please check their website for specifics.
http://www.Glenechopark.org

Clara Barton National Historic Site

The home Clara Barton, the founder of the American Red Cross, for the last 15 years of her life; built in the “Steamboat Gothic” Victorian architectural style.

5801 Oxford Road, Glen Echo
(301) 320-1410
Open year round, the house is shown by guided tour only, running on the hour from 10am to 4pm daily.
http://www.nps.gov/clba

C&O Canal National Historical Park

Great Falls Tavern

The visitor center and museum, located beside restored Lock 20, was built in 1828 as a lock tender’s house and later converted to an inn.  Travel along the canal in a restored canal boat or hike the park’s trails and see the great falls of the Potomac River.

Borrow a Bike for Free: Bike loaner program has been expanded to Great Falls. Bikes and helmets can be signed out for up to two hours for visitors to enjoy the canal from a different perspective. Available on Saturdays, Sundays and holidays from 10:00 am to 4:00 pm. To contact the Great Falls Tavern, call 301-767-3714.

www.nps.gov/choh 

 

 

Canal Quarters

A joint venture between the C&O Canal Trust and the C&O Canal National Historical Park, Canal Quarters welcomes visitors to stay overnight in historically refurbished lockhouses on the canal.  Six lockhouses have been restored and furnished to represent a different era of canal operation. Visitors will find historic photographs, maps and books in each lockhouse, turning a visit into an interpretive experience. You can book a room online and immerse yourself in the history of one of the nation's busiest commericial waterways.

 

11710 MacArthur Boulevard, Potomac
(301) 767-3714
Open year-round, 9am-4:30pm daily. Call ahead to confirm hours of operation.
http://www.canaltrust.org/quarters/

Blockhouse Point

Walk in the footsteps of Civil War soldiers in this undeveloped conservation area dedicated to environmental preservation.  The area was the site of an 1852 Union outpost camp and blockhouse (no longer standing) used to guard the Potomac River crossing from Confederate attack.

15000 River Road, Potomac
(301) 840-5848
Call for details on guided hikes.
http://www.blockhousepoint.org

Historic Whites Ferry

A unique cable ferry crossing the Potomac every 20 minutes, a short distance downriver from White’s Ford, where J.E.B. Stuart’s cavalry crossed during the Civil War.

24801 Whites Ferry Road, Dickerson
(301) 349-5200
The ferry operates daily 5am to 11pm, weather permitting.

Monocacy Aqueduct on the C&O Canal

A seven-arched, 500-foot aqueduct built in 1833 which withstood multiple attacks during the Civil War.

39°13′25″N 77°27′7″W,
(301) 983-0825
Open year round.
http://www.CandOcanal.org

Seneca Schoolhouse Museum

The Schoolhouse was built in 1865 of Seneca sandstone and operated as a one-room schoolhouse until 1910.  A carefully researched 19th-century school day program is taught by a trained and costumed teacher.

16800 River Road, Poolesville
(301) 972-8588
Open year-round for scheduled school field trips; please see their website or call for details.
http://www.historicmedley.org

John Poole House and General Store Museum

A one-room log trading post built in 1793 that was enlarged several times and in 1810 served as the area’s first post office.

19923 Fisher Avenue, Poolesville
(301) 972-8588
The site is open by appointment, and other days by chance. Please call ahead to be sure that it is open.
http://www.historicmedley.org

Seneca Aqueduct/Riley’s Lockhouse

A scenic aqueduct and lock along the C&O Canal.

Seneca Aqueduct, Poolesville
(301) 983-0825
Open year round.
http://www.CandOcanal.org

Edwards Ferry

A well-used crossing point on the Potomac between Montgomery and Loudon Counties, in 1863 75,000 northern troops crossed on pontoon bridges on their way to Gettysburg.  Site of Lockhouse 25.

River Road and Edwards Ferry Road, Poolesville
(301) 983-0825
Open year round.
http://www.CandOcanal.org

St. Paul Community Church

The heart of a freed slave community dating to the late 1800s.

14730 Sugarland Lane, Poolesville
(301) 717-9304
By appointment only
http://www.sugarlandethnohistoryproject.org

Poolesville Museum

This recently restored 1907 bank building and former town hall, an iconic structure in the center of Poolesville, hosts rotating exhibits and programs.

19933 Fisher Avenue, Poolesville
(301) 972-8588
Call for information.
http://www.historicmedley.org

Monocacy Confederate Chapel and Cemetery

Established in 1747 as an Anglican chapel in whose cemetery fallen Confederate soldiers lie buried.

Route 28 and Route 109, Beallsville
Cemetery is open year round.

Boyds Negro School

This one-room wooden building served as the only public school for African American children in the Boyds area from 1895-1936.

19510 White Ground Road, Boyds
(301) 461-4646
The last Sunday of the month from 2-4pm, April through October, and by appointment.
http://www.boydshistory.org

DC Radio Control Club

At South Germantown Park, where members fly all types of radio-controlled model aircraft.

16200 Schaeffer Road, Boyds
Check website for details.
http://www.dc-rc.org

Hyattstown Mill Arts Project

The mill was reconstructed in 1918 after a fire destroyed the original structure dating to the 1790s and is currently home to a wide variety of arts-related programs and activities.

14920 Hyattstown Mill Road, Hyattstown
(301) 874-2452
The Mill Gallery is generally open from 10am to 4pm on weekends; please call ahead to be sure that it is open.
http://www.hyattstownmill.org

King Barn Dairy MOOseum

The 1930 dairy barn is a museum telling the story of dairy farming and farm families in 20th century Montgomery County.

18028 Central Park Circle, Boyds
(301) 528-6530
See website for details.
http://www.mooseum.com

Button Farm Living History Center

A living history farm portraying 1850s plantation life and an heirloom garden.

16820 Black Rock Road, Germantown
(301) 916-7090
Open the first weekend in April through the first weekend in November, noon to 4pm.
http://www.buttonfarm.org

Gaithersburg Community Museum

Located in the restored 1884 B&O Railroad Station featuring exhibits on the city’s history and the commuter/excursion trains that have served the community.

9 South Summit Avenue, Gaithersburg
(301) 258-6160
Thursdays-Saturdays, 10am to 2pm and by appointment.
http://www.gaithersburgmd.gov/museum

Gaithersburg-Washington Grove Volunteer Fire Department Museum

Features memorabilia, pictures, and a restored 1941 Diamond T fire truck/pumper.

13 East Diamond Avenue, Gaithersburg
(301) 646-1222
Saturdays 10am-2pm.
http://www.gwgvfd.org

Courthouse Square – City of Rockville

Home of many historically and culturally significant sites in the political heart of Montgomery County.

29 Courthouse Square, Rockville
(240) 314-8232
Open year round.
http://www.rockvillemd.gov/historic

Glenview Mansion

An early 20th century estate, Glenview is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

603 Edmonston Drive, Rockville
(240) 314-8660
Check website or call for information.
http://www.rockvillemd.gov/glenview

American Latvian Church and Museum

Exhibits on Latvian history and culture.

400 Hurley Avenue, Rockville
(301) 340-1914
Sundays, 1-3pm, and by appointment.
http://www.alausa.org

Red Brick Courthouse

The third courthouse on this sight, the building was constructed in 1891 to house all county government functions.

29 Courthouse Square, Rockville
(301) 762-0096
Monday-Friday 9am-5pm and by appointment.
http://www.peerlessrockville.org

Beall–Dawson House

Constructed in 1815 as a residence for the Beall family and now home to the Montgomery County Historical Society.  The Stonestreet Museum of 19th-Century Medicine, an outfitted office of a country doctor, is also on the site.

111 West Montgomery Avenue, Rockville
(301) 762-1492
Tuesday – Sunday, noon to 4pm.
http://www.montgomeryhistory.org

Josiah Henson Historic Site

The property, part of the Riley farm where Rev. Josiah Henson was enslaved from 1795-1825, is undergoing restoration. Henson's 1849 autobiography inspired Harriet Beecher Stowe's landmark novel, Uncle Tom's Cabin.

11420 Old Georgetown Road, North Bethesda
(301) 650-4373
Check website for periodic public events.
http://www.josiahhensonsite.org

Agricultural History Farm Park

A turn-of-the-century Montgomery County farm, with animals and a working sawmill.

18400 Muncaster Road, Derwood
Open year round. Call or check website for details.
http://www.aghistoryfarm.org

Town of Brookeville

Stroll through this quaint town including the Brookeville Academy (circa 1810) and the recently restored 19th-century one-room schoolhouse.

Georgia Avenue and Market Street, Brookeville
(301) 570-4465
Call for information
http://www.townofbrookevillemd.org

Oakley Cabin African American Museum and Park

Built in the 1820s as one of three slave dwellings, the cabin was the center of an African American roadside community from Emancipation well into the 20th century.

3610 Brookeville Road, Olney
Open for free tours from noon to 4pm on the second and fourth Saturday of the month, April to early November. Tours by appointment by calling 301-650-4373.
http://www.oakleycabin.org

Sandy Spring Slave Museum

A collection of historical art and artifacts telling the story of African American history.  Tour the Arts Pavilion, slave clipper ship and log cabin.

18524 Brooke Road, Sandy Spring
(301) 774-4066
The museum is open by appointment only; contact slavemuseum@yahoo.com.
http://www.sandyspringslavemuseum.org

Sandy Spring Museum

Established in 1981 to preserve the area’s agricultural heritage and Quaker tradition.  The main Exhibit Hall is a post and beam construction reminiscent of barns and out buildings of the Quaker farms. The Museum is now hosting Salon Lunches every Wednesday afternoon from Noon to 1:00 PM. Bring a bag lunch to join friends and neighbors to the salon-syle discussions with a different topic each week.

17901 Bentley Road, Sandy Spring
(301) 774-0022
Wednesday-Saturday, 10am to 5pm; Sunday noon to 5pm
http://www.sandyspringmuseum.org

Underground Railroad Experience Trail Hikes

A 2-mile trail winding through woods and fields to Sandy Spring believed to have been part of the historic Underground Railroad.  Join volunteer "conductors" on guided hikes along the simulated Underground Railroad trail on Saturdays, April - November.

16501 Norwood Road, Sandy Spring
(301) 650-4373
Guided hikes April through early November. Check website for times.
http://www.montgomeryparks.org/PPSD/Cultural_Resources_Stewardship/heritage/urr_...

National Capital Trolley Museum

Established in 1959 to preserve and interpret the history of area electric street cars.

1313 Bonifant Road, Colesville
(301) 384-6088
Saturday and Sunday, noon to 5pm.
http://www.dctrolley.org

Silver Spring Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Station

An award-winning restoration of a 1945 railroad station.

8100 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring
(301) 495-4915
First Saturday of the month
http://www.montgomerypreservation.org

fdfd